• Home  / 
  •  /  Affirmations to Heal and balance your 7 Chakras

Affirmations to Heal and balance your 7 Chakras

By Minnie J. Andrews / November 14, 2018
Chakras For Beginners

Chakra is a Sanskrit word that denotes a wheel. If you have attended any classes for yoga, group meditation or Reiki, you would have come across instructors who keep mentioning about chakras in your body. Even if they have not spoken about what chakras are and about all the seven chakras, they in all probability would have mentioned about the third-eye chakra. It is the chakra that is located at the center of the forehead between the brows. It is considered to be responsible for human intuition and kindling the inner light within you. Chakra affirmations are considered to be a powerful tool in unblocking the chakras and re-draw neural pathways.

What are seven chakras?

Chakra is a term that originated in India between 1500 and 500BC. Though the term chakra translates as wheel or disc, it refers to the spiritual energy centers within one’s body. It has been established that there are 7 chakras in your body and each of them corresponds to a particular organ as well as the physical, emotional, psychological and spiritual state of being. The perfect harmony and alignment of these chakras lead to a feeling of well-being.

Introduction to chakras

There are seven chakras. The list includes

1. Root chakra/ Muladhara
2. Sacral chakra/Svadishtana
3. Solar plexus chakra/Manipura
4. Heart chakra/Anahata
5. Throat Chakra/Vishuddha
6. The third eye chakra/Ajna
7. The Crown Chakra/Sahaswara.

These chakras are located in different parts of the body and are related to energy and experiences. It is necessary that they are all open and completely balanced to lead a happy life.

The chakras and how affirmations can help in balancing them

Each chakra is related to a particular state of mind. When they are in balance you will experience well-being but, when they are overactive or underactive, it spells trouble. But, you can heal it easily with the use of chakra affirmations.

The Root Chakra

As the name suggests, this chakra is responsible for giving everything that you want to make your survival in this earth. This chakra is located near the tailbone. It is at the base of the spine, and it includes the region just below the belly button. When this chakra is in order, you tend to have peace of mind. You will experience a sense of accomplishment and would safe secure and wealthy.

An overactive root chakra would induce a feeling of threat to survival leading to anxiety. This would manifest in the form of digestive problems, hip pain, prostate issues in men and ovarian cysts, in women. However, an underactive root chakra may make you daydream and appear airheaded.

An effective Root chakra affirmation is “I am peaceful, secure and protected and I am a divine being of light.”

The sacral chakra

This chakra is located in the lower abdominal region. It is just below the navel. In the physical level, it relates to reproduction, on the spiritual level, it relates to energy and passion and an emotional perspective it refers to creativity, relationships, and joy. Therefore, a balanced sacral chakra would enable you to relish the pleasurable things in life without overdoing it.

An overactive sacral chakra results in addiction, restlessness, hormonal imbalances and obesity. The underactive chakra might lead to depression, lack of passion, impotence, etc.

An effective Sacral Chakra Affirmation is “I am here to enjoy a healthy and passionate life, and I am beautiful, strong and radiant.”

The Solar plexus chakra

It refers to the abdomen region right above the navel. This chakra plays a vital role in growth and digestion and also issues such as personal power, control, spiritual evolution, and intellect. A balanced third chakra will give you personal power, would make you decisive and instill a sense of wisdom.

An overactive chakra may lead to micromanagement, greediness, lack of compassion, etc while an underactive chakra would lead to problems in the internal organs such as kidneys, liver, appendix, and pancreas.

An effective Affirmation includes” I am empowered and can be successful in whatever I am doing.”

Heart Chakra

It refers to the Chakra in the center of the chest, and it is associated with cleansing. A balanced heart chakra would help you view the things that happen in life with equanimity. It helps you to remain kind and compassionate to others. An overactive chakra would result in you giving importance to others needs more than yours.

It might lead to physical symptoms such as a faster heart rate, heartburn, palpitations, and interpersonal relationship issue. When the chakra is underactive, you tend to build a wall around you and hesitate to get close to anyone.

Healing the heart chakra is a really difficult task. The affirmation that might be of help is” I will give and receive love unconditionally and effortlessly. Being kind and loving is the purpose of life.”

Throat chakra

It is located in the throat region. It is the chakra that would govern the communication aspects. A balanced throat chakra would help you to speak with kindness, truth, and love and also clear. When the chakra is overactive, you tend to have a loud voice, and you would be ready to interrupt others when they want to express something. While an underactive chakra would make you incapable of expressing your emotions. As this energy gets diverted away to the stomach, it ends up in the third chakra resulting in digestive problems.

The affirmation that can help is” I am truthful. I will express myself truthfully and carefully.”

Third eye chakra

This refers to the chakra between the brows. The chakra has got to deal with the intuitiveness and divine vision. A balanced 6th chakra would help you get tuned to the physical as well as the material world. An overactive chakra will lead you into activities like astrology tarot card readings might overwhelm you and distract you from living a normal life. An underactive chakra might disconnect you from spiritual experiences.

The chakra affirmation for healing is “I will understand the true meaning of life and situations. I am tuned to the divine universal wisdom.”

The crown chakra

It is located on the top of the head. A balanced chakra would lead you to attain enlightenment and awakening your consciousness. You can hardly come across anyone with overactive crown chakra. Underactive chakra confirms that you are human. Balancing of all other chakras will help you get closer to experiencing consciousness-energy in the crown chakra.

Aim to balance the 6 chakras by acknowledging the symptoms that the body shows now and then to lead a harmonious life.

About the author

Minnie J. Andrews