• Home  / 
  • MIND
  •  /  How to Practice Buddhism – a Guide for Beginners

How to Practice Buddhism – a Guide for Beginners

Practice Buddhism

Buddhism is a path of practicing spiritual development by following the sayings and philosophies of Buddha and bodhisattvas. The Buddhist practices are means of changing our perspective towards life with inculcating kindness, wisdom, and awareness in our souls.

The development of Buddhism in thousands of years has created an incomparable resource for those who wish to practice Buddhism as a path towards enlightenment. Buddhism leads to the way where we have complete freedom from any emotional restrictions or mental limitations. The path of witensdom can be attained through meditation and developing the feeling of nonattachment towards the worldly things. The unique concept of Buddhism is that you can find your peace, enlightenment on earth and within yourself, you don’t need to travel to another world or seek help from anyone for finding your path towards self-acknowledgment. But the question often asked by beginners in Buddhism is that how to practice Buddhism?

The philosophy of Buddhism does not believe in the concept of worshipping the creator God. The basic teaching of Buddhism is straightforward and uncomplicated. They think that nothing is permanent and everlasting. Every action we perform has consequences and comes with the price. Change is possible, and we can achieve it by our deeds.

Buddhism address all people as equal irrespective of their age, sex, religion or nationality. The religion preaches similar path to everyone for enlightenment, and it is through meditation. With meditation, everyone can achieve the way of wisdom and compassion.

The Teachings of Buddha

Buddha has taught everyone the way that leads to the freedom of mind from sorrows and sufferings. He says that by gaining insight into what we indeed are, we can lead our path enlightenment. The tools Gautama Buddha taught for it is by gaining insight of mindfulness and an ability to be aware of every moment. The mindfulness can only be developed by practicing vipassana meditation.

The word Buddha means awakening and the teachings of Buddhism leads the way to awaken your sol in this world.

Buddhist practices

After enlightenment Buddha gave a vision of how the human race can free themselves from the shackles of pains and sufferings. He saw human race as a bed of flowers and just like a lotus is developed in a mud puddle, humans can also find enlightenment in the puddles of worldly sufferings.
Buddha believed that everyone has the right to developing his path of salvation by unfolding his potential and require little help for it. They symbolized enlightenment of human with blooming of lotus in the mud.

He decided to teach humans for developing the sight and methods of working on mind for developing a positive state that can be characterized as calm, concentration, awareness and meditation. Some of the primary and essential Buddhist practices are-

The threefold way

One of the essential and necessary ways of formulating the path of Buddhism is by following the threefold way of ethics, meditation, and wisdom. They are indispensable with meditation, and wisdom. According to Buddhism, meditation is the only way of finding peace, salvation, and enlightenment in life.

Ethics – living is related to acting, and according to Buddhist theories of Karma we have to bear the consequences of our deeds in this world only. You don’t have to pay for your sins in another world.

An essential point in Buddhist practice is that it is not good and evil actions rather the actions are skillful and unskillful. The skillful actions are based on kindness empathy, and unskillful actions are on hatred and greed. To break this cycle of karma you have to follow the five precepts in life

The five precepts of life

  1. Not killing or causing harm to any living creature
  2. Not to take any not given thing
  3. Avoiding sexual misconduct
  4. Avoiding false speech
  5. Avoiding any drinking and drug that hurts the mind


Meditation is the most critical practice or if we can say it is the core of Buddhism. According to Buddha, everyone can lead his path of enlightenment through practicing meditation. There are many things in life beyond our control, and it is possible to take our responsibility and change the state of mind.

In Buddhism meditation is taught as the antidote of all conditions that beset humans in life like anxiety, anger, confusion, selfishness, and hatred.
Meditation means transforming your mind in a state when nothing matters and you have clarity in your thoughts and emotions. Meditation aims to gain wisdom.


The basics of Buddhism

There are three main pillars on wish Buddhism has developed and flourished. Together they are known as three jewels, and they are the three treasures of the religion. The three jewels are-

• Buddha- Buddha refers to the historical Buddha and the feeling of Buddhism that opens to all. Buddhism represents the potential that everyone has.

• The dharma- dharma has a specific meaning, and that is unmediated truth and the enlightenment of mind.

• Sangha- sangha is the community and the third jewel of Buddhism.

How to be a Buddhist

How to become a Buddhist? Well becoming Buddhist is very easy as Buddhism is very simple and uncomplicated religion. To be a Buddhist you don’t need to wear special clothes or change your eating, living habits instead you have to do simple changes in your perceptions.

About the author

Minnie J. Andrews